prestigepopla.blogg.se

Gibson es 125 t
Gibson es 125 t








The guitar is still perfectly playable and the neck joint is solid but I will need to get it repaired. When I got mine it was in pristine shape, since then the back has started to pull away near the neck heel and also near the strap button. I payed $900 for mine when I got it but I've seen them for going for less and for more. I have a 59 es-125t 3/4, it sounds great especially for slide. The Heritage H525/575 are a bit more in line with the es-175s. they are good and solid but very basic no thrills and - in the day for Gibson at least - entry level guitars. Hmm edit, it sounds a bit like I'm knocking the "quality" of the es-125s, not intended at all. I ended up tone posting mine due to feedback and for a bit tighter sound) fitted with HBs you see a lot more often. The H-575s (pretty similar, but solid top. If you can't find a 125 for a reasonable price, you might want to keep an eye open for a *used* Heritage H525 (2 1/4" depth, ply top), the quality should be a lot better than a 125TDC, don't see them often though. With the TD above, the question I would ask, would you be happy without the cutaway? I don't go above the 12th a lot, but when I do, I do notice it and avoid it more w/out a cutaway. I've seen them on the Bay in the US occasionally for non collector prices. though collectors and possibly George Thorogood seem to cause them to be offered for sale for a lot more). You're lucky, back in the day they were Gibson's popular budget hollow body, and in the US you should be able to get one for a reasonable price (imho 800-1200, less super, more is a bit much for what they are. The es-125tc is electric through and through. To me the 5th ave feels and plays like an acoustic and has a flat 16" fingerboard radius and can be played unplugged in accompaniment (though a dreadnought can roll all over you volume wise). I have a 1 PU/No cutaway Godin 5th Ave (3" depth very thin resonant ply top), which I like a lot, but it is a very different beast than the 60's 125 Thinlines (ca. My first electric was an early 60's es-125tc (on loan from my guitar teacher for a couple of years). I wish Gibson would do a ES-125TC Studio. If everything is as it should be than he can name a price but I am getting the impression that he does not want to put anything into it. I told my freind to tell her friend that he best take the guitar to a luthier and have everything checked and set up with new strings. Any cash for the guitar would have been a win. Remember this guitar was heading for the dump site. Of course the guy thinks he has a gold mine now and won't take anything less than$1,500 for the guitar. But the back of it vcould have been all split and the pick guard is nitro cellulose so who knows if there was any damage cause by it shrinking or chemical reaction. Looks like it was in good condition but I have not seen it in person, I had no idea if the electrics worked. Long story short it was a 1952 ES-125 in sunburst from the one picture I saw.

GIBSON ES 125 T SERIAL

She came to me with the serial # and said it was a Gibson. He took it and asked my friend if she knows anybody who knows guitars. Yesterday, a freind of mine had a freind of hers call her about a guitar a lady gave him becuase she was going to throw it out (he works for 1800GOTJUNK). So, anyone have experience with the cutaway, and the action? They sound to me more like accoutics than hollowbody electrics.įunny you should mention this. Good for slide, but I could never play it that way with the fingers. In regards to the Godin, I only played a single pickup, non cutaway, and the strings were really high at the 12 fret. Like the sound of the old P90's, thats why I am goin that way. Not being a tec guy, any advice on the pitfalls of these guitars. My question is, since they are older guitars, what are some of the things I need to look out for when trading/purchasing? I know the neck/heel joints come loose, and have seen some sloppy repair jobs, and I read that the tops can flatten out over time. But want the action at a place I can do both. I would use it mainly for slide, aka George Thorogood, duane allman stuff. On ebay, its hard to tell what yuo get, and the prices are all over the board, 850 to 3000. For years I have wanted a ES 125TDC, but cant come accross them here. Mine is worth about 1250, an older strat. I have a guy that is willing to trade me for one of my guitars, no, dont panic, not my gretsch's, a Gibson es 125 TD.








Gibson es 125 t